Taos School of Music is proud to recognize its 2013 alumnus, Drew Petersen, as the 2017 recipient of the American Pianists Association Christel De Haan Classical Fellowship award, given every four years to a talented pianist identified as vital young voice in classical music. The prize, valued at more than $100,000, includes $50,000 in cash, a recording contract with Steinway & Sons, two years of professional development and assistance, and performance opportunities worldwide.

Drew graduated cum laude from Harvard with a bachelor of liberal arts in social science and did his undergraduate music studies at the Juilliard School with Jerome Lowenthal. He is currently pursuing his Master’s of Music at Juilliard with Robert McDonald as a recipient of the prestigious Kovner Fellowship.

Says Kathleen Anderson, Executive Director of Taos School of Music, “We congratulate Drew on his enormous achievement and look forward to watching his career take shape as he ascends the world’s concert stage. Of the five finalists in the American Pianists Association’s competition, three attended Taos School of Music: Drew Petersen, Sam Hong, and Alex Beyer. All are remarkable young people with brilliant futures.”